Chicken and Rice Casserole in 80 Degree Weather

I made the casserole on Sunday along with all my other meals for the month. It took me an entire afternoon, but in the end, it will be worth it. Basically I have a month’s worth of TV dinners that I have home made.

As I ate my lunch today, I thought about a comment that a friend made after I posted on Facebook about the food preparations. She jokingly remarked, “Your husband is on his way!!”. I’d like to think that. Of course, that is not why I did it. I did it because it was economical and more cost effective as far as my bills were concerned.

But while I was kneading the dough for my pizza nights to come, her words stuck with me. The “one” that I want deserves to have as much of my time as I can give. and if that means an entire day of slaving in the kitchen to get the precious hours that couples so obviously need but seem to deprive themselves of these days, then sign me up! I love him enough to do it. And more.

It’s almost like the Psalm says (84 I believe); “Better is one day in the courts of God than a thousand anywhere else”. To me a relationship consists of taking and making certain sacrifices where necessary. It’s part of what I think love is: a true desire to see to the well being of someone else, whether or not you get it in return. An appreciation.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

